Following a public meeting organized by the Ministry of Natural Resources in Kimberley in the spring of 2013, a committee of citizens was established to provide advice to the MNR on improved management of its land, in cooperation and partnership with the GSCA and BTC lands now under pressure from many recreational users.

Representation of all the major user groups – hikers, horseback riders, mountain-bikers, hunters, snowshoers, XC skiers, snowmobilers and ATV’ers, as well as MNR, GSCA and the BTC are part of the local volunteer steering committee, known as the Friends of the Kimberley Forest.

Founding committee members included Paul Allen (Local Resident), Jim Batchelor (Local Resident), Nancy Beacon (Horseback Riding), Don Churchill (Mountain Biking), Erika Forsek (Beaver Valley Ski Club), Chris Hachey (Grey Sauble Conservation Authority), Stew Hilts (Beaver Valley Bruce Trail Club), Kelly Killoran (Local Resident, Beaver Valley Nordic Ski Club), Cathy Little (Municipality of Grey Highlands), Vera Lloyd (Dufferin Grey ATV Club), Brian McCulloch (Local Hunter), Glen Meads (Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters), Gord Montgomery (Klondyke Trail Groomers), Bruce Newman (Sustainable Trails Ontario), Jill Smith-Brodie (Beaver Valley Bruce Trail Club), Theresa Tindall (Kimberley Resident), Craig Todd (Ministry of Natural Resources) and Glenn Weatherall (Dufferin Grey ATV Club)

The committee meets monthly to discuss ongoing projects and works towards co-operative agreements on improved management options for community consideration.

Current Committee Members

  • Brian McCulloch
  • Cathy Little
  • Don Churchill (Chair)
  • Jason Petznick
  • Jill Smith-Brodie
  • Kelly Killoran
  • Paul Pederson
  • Peter Mitchel
  • Stew Hilts
  • Simon Dearden
  • Lynn Horlor
  • Nadia Dubyk (Grey Highlands)

Related Pages